Mirror of my life

They say if you meet one autistic person, you’ve met ONE person with autism. No two are alike. I agree emphatically with that statement. However, having said that, I could have written this myself, and have, many times, on my own blog, in emails, in person, in therapy.. almost word for word.

The exhaustion of autism

“The fact I know what’s wrong with me and how I react to things doesn’t mean I can stop those reactions! That’s like knowing you are allergic to peanut butter and saying, hey, body, stop doing what you’re wired to do because I said so! If only I could do that because nobody enjoys being out of control!

I’ve changed and grown, and continue to change and grow, but it’s a terribly long process that unfortunately required a lot of time and effort and pain because unfortunately, I learn by doing and sometimes, that meant doing the same shit over and over again until I “got it right.” …By the way, that’s not very effective in life, and people aren’t very forgiving of what they see as you repeating the same stupid mistakes over and over again. But hey, I was left to figure it out on my own.”

Leave a Reply

