Civic duty

​We, as private citizens of the nation, possess a CIVIC DUTY to serve as the checks and balances to corrupt behavior. I learned this very young, both in middle school and at home.
The man I call my dad was a police officer. My ex husband was a police officer. I come from a family with large and broad range of military and police careers. I absolutely support my LEO’S and military. 
These men and women also instilled in me the deep conviction of standing up for right over wrong. When I see wrong, I speak up. I don’t criticize all cops. I question behavior that appears to go against the concept of being a “peace” officer. 
We are not at war. They are not soldiers, although a great many do end up in law enforcement after their service time. Therefore, they are supposed to keep the peace.
 EVERY person as the presumption of innocence, that’s why we have procedures in place called due process. Police are to be held to a higher standard, strictly because they do carry weapons daily, and they DO have immense power of authority. Theirs is the greater burden, not only of responsibility, but also morality, critical thinking, and behavior. 
If I witness a scene unfolding before me that appears civilly wrong, or excessive from the attending officer, yes I WILL speak up. And -unfortunately- in this day and age, will likely need to begin filming. I have a 100% duty as a witness and citizen to question behavior appearing gross, negligent, or abusive. 
ANY officer who is conducting himself in a manner befitting a public safety officer does have the onus of de-escalating potentially dangerous situations with the MINIMUM use of force and resources. Lately it seems the majority have it backwards. They START with the maximum use of force, and then play C.Y.A. afterwards.

Leave a Reply

