Hail to the chief

​So we have a new president. I couldn’t get away from it if I tried. Not on the Internet anyhow. It’s all over my feed, news, twitter, Facebook, even Instagram. To quote the delectable Marvel character ‘Black Widow’, “Regimes fall all the time. I tend to not get attached.” The difference here is that we go through it on a regularly scheduled basis. 

I’m nervous. For the first time in a very long time, we have a legislative branch that actually has the numbers to make changes without a serious worry of being halted, in Congress and the executive branch. Depending on the new SCOTUS member, whomever it may be, the Supreme Court might well be included.

 
Some of the statements scare me. They frighten me for the potential impact it will have on me or my daughter, or some of my friends. 

I’ve seen numerous shares of this picture comparing the national mall, enjoying a moment to ridicule the sparse crowd versus the enormous one. And quite frankly it irritates me. If anyone did any searching at all, or watched the proceedings, they’d realize it’s inaccurate, as the media LOVES to spin things. The media loves nothing so much as controversy, anything to get clicks and ratings. I saw a playback of the inauguration. Maybe it wasn’t as widely populated as Obama’s, BUT it was by no means empty or sparse once the time drew nearer to the swearing in. Stop spreading deceit! I’ve always said I’m not known for being necessarily a nice person, but I AM known for being honest. 

I don’t have the first clue what kind of President Trump will be. As I said, I’m nervous and scared. Fun fact: I didn’t vote for Obama either. But by the end of his two terms as president, I gained a respect for him, and how he and his family have handled all the shit slung towards them. I didn’t vote for Trump, but he has 4 years to earn my respect. I am living proof that people can…not change, but evolve and grow. 

But I will keep hoping. I will keep praying. I will pray that I can keep myself true, and whatever changes are coming, that they will actually be for the good of all. If some Trump supporters are bigots, racists, transphobes, or hateful, I can’t count them among my friends.

I do not believe in the collective. And as much of a cynic as I am, I’m also the type to pull myself up eventually, dust off my ass, wipe the tears, and get to work. I do believe in the individual. I believe the small circle of people I keep in my life ARE good, decent, and well intentioned folk, whichever side of the political fence they stand. They wouldn’t be my friends otherwise.

I am not looking for debate, arguments, or anything else. If you feel some type of way, you won’t hear judgements from me. But keep it off my page. I’ll delete them in .02 seconds.

 I will continue to live my life with gratitude, kindness, and humility. I will still go out of my way to help the old man with his groceries, and the little old ladies cross the street, I will still champion the underdog… and I will STILL cut a fool for trying to steal my girl scout cookies.

Leave a Reply

