Autistic Bilingualism

Exactlyyyyy! Our brain will always, automatically take the most literal meaning, and THEN we translate it into our understanding of what a neurotypical “probably” meant. Then and only then will we get it. These translations take extra time. 

“This morning someone told me they were β€œRiveted” by my latest poem. My autism pictured a ship’s rivets. It placed them around a person. I then translated that into its non-autistic meaning, they were captivated by it, they loved it, it held them.”

 

Source: Autistic Bilingualism

One thought on “Autistic Bilingualism

  1. Yes! For me I feel like I have an ever increasing dictionary of NT speak. When I hear something like that I have to go through the dictionary and find the word.

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

